top of page

Know the Indian Mint Marks

Updated: May 1, 2021

Every standard issue coin in India is minted by the Government of India, in terms of the Coinage Act, 1906 as amended from time to time. The Government of India also determines the denominations and designs of the coins. The Government mints the coins at four major coin mints located in the following Indian cities- Kolkata (Alipore), Hyderabad (Secunderabad), Mumbai and Noida.

Here are the briefs for the four Indian mint marks:

1. Kolkata Mint (Calcutta Mint)

The Kolkata Mint, previously known as the Calcutta mint, is based in West Bengal. The original mint was made operational since 1757. It is India’s oldest mint, with some of the original machinery having been shipped over from Great Britain. Presently, the Government of India runs this mint based out of Alipore. Coins from this mint bear no symbol or distinct markers, as seen below:

2. Hyderabad Mint

The Hyderabad mint is based in Cherlapally, Secunderabad in Telangana. It was originally established to serve the Nizam of Hyderabad as a Royal Mint in 1803. It has since been taken over by the Government of India and serves to manufacture rupee coins in the following denominations-1 rupee, 2 rupees, 5 rupees and 10 rupees. It is presently symbolized by a five-pointed star shape, as seen below:

Prior to the adoption of the 'five-pointed star’ mint mark, the Hyderabad mint was symbolized by a diamond mark with a dot inside in the 1960s. This illustration is recreated below:

Additionally, between 1950-1960, the Hyderabad mint was symbolized by the ‘split’ diamond mark, as seen below:

3. Mumbai Mint (Bombay Mint)

The Mumbai mint in Maharashtra was established in the year 1829. It is primarily produces commemorative coins. It is symbolized by a diamond shape, as seen below:

Some Proof Set coins minted in Bombay were symbolized by the mint mark ‘B’, as seen below:

Proof Set coins minted in Bombay were symbolized by an ‘M’ instead of a ‘B’, after the name Bombay was changed to ‘Mumbai’, as seen below:

4. Noida Mint

The Noida mint in Uttar Pradesh was established in the year 1988. It is the newest Indian mint in operation, set up only after India gained independence from Great Britain in 1947. It is symbolized through a ‘dot’ shape or a round mark, as seen below:

50 views0 comments
bottom of page